Skip to content

Main Navigation

Faculty

Troy Andersen

Associate Professor/Lecturer, Director Goodwill Initiatives on Aging

(801) 587-5354 SW 206
troy.andersen@hsc.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Alzheimer’s Disease, Progressive Neurologic Disease, Aging, Health, Rural Health Care

Tiffany Baffour

Associate Professor & MSW Program Director

(801) 581-7585 SW 333
tiffany.baffour@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Community-based Participatory Research, Health Care Delivery, Violence Prevention, Evidence-based Mental Health, Professional Development in Social Work

Joanna Bettmann Schaefer

Professor, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

(801) 587 -7600 SW 108
joanna.schaefer@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Attachment, Treatment Outcomes, Wilderness Therapy, Residential Treatment

Jerry Buie

Assistant Professor/Lecturer

(801) 587-5234 SW 332 
jerry.buie@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
LGBTQ Issues, Social Justice/Diversity, Substance Use Disorder, Spirituality and Shamanism (Indigenous Approaches to Health and Wellness), Clinical Practice

Kara Byrne

Research Assistant Professor

(801) 581-4858 SW 124
kara.byrne@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Child Trauma, Pediatric Primary Care Clinics, Implementation Research, Child Welfare, Eviction

Christopher Cambron

Assistant Professor

(801) 581-8691 SW 330A
chris.cambron@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Health disparities, substance abuse/addiction, cancer prevention, quantitative research, ecological momentary assessment

Sarah Canham

Associate Professor (Social Work & Architecture + Planning)

(801) 581-8738 SW 330B
sarah.canham@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Social determinants of health; Health and social services; Environments and aging; Homelessness; Substance use and dependence; Mental health; Qualitative research methods; Community-based participatory research; Life course perspective; Social construction of knowledge; Culture of medicine; Knowledge translation

Jason Castillo

Associate Professor, BSW Program Director

(801) 585-9592 SW 335
jason.castillo@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Disadvantaged Children and Families with an Emphasis on Fathers, Social Work Education, Substance Use Disorder Counselor Education and Training, Social Welfare Policy, Macro Social Work Practice

Matthew Davis

Research Associate Professor

(801) 581-5738 SW 124
matt.davis@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Program Evaluation, Juvenile Justice, Innovative Training Methods for Mental Health Practitioners

Mark de St. Aubin

Assistant Professor/Lecturer

(801) 581-8901 SW 326
mark.destaubin@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Clinical Practice with Grief and Loss, Field Practicum, Medical Social Work, Gerontology, Social Work Supervision

David Derezotes

Professor, Bridge Clinic Director

(801) 585-3546 SW 305 
dderezotes@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Inter-relationship between community mental health, well-being of local anthromes and biomes, and spirituality; Dialogue practice and community psychodrama; Race, equity, diversity, and inclusion trainings; Empowerment of people to transform such Global Survival Threats as climate change, over population, preparations for nuclear war; Peace, conflict resolution, the “radical middle” and meditation

Caren J. Frost

Research Professor, Director of CRMRI

(801) 581-5287 SW 208 
caren.frost@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Women’s Health, Global Health, Breast Cancer, Research Ethics

Eric Garland

Professor, Associate Dean for Research, Director of C-MIIND

(801) 581-3826 SW 275
eric.garland@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Mindfulness-based Interventions, Clinical Research and Treatment of Stress-related Conditions (e.g., addiction, anxiety, chronic pain, cancer), Integrative Medicine and Behavioral Medicine, Translational Research using Cognitive Neuroscience Methods, Resilience, Positive Psychology, and Meaning-making

Yvette González Coronado

Assistant Professor/Lecturer

(801) 581-4711 SW 328A
yvette.gonzalez@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Trauma-Informed and Healing-Centered Engagement, Feminist Multicultural Therapy, Curanderismo/Traditional Medicine, Latinxs Epistemologies

Christina Gringeri

Professor, PhD Program Director, ITSW Co-Director

(801) 581-4864 SW 315 
christina.gringeri@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Diversity in Social Work Education and Practicum; Qualitative Research Methods and Evaluation of Qualitative Research; Feminisms in Social Work Research

Adam Hanley

Research Assistant Professor

(801) 213-4191 SW 267
adam.hanley@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Clinical Research and Treatment of Chronic Pain and Addiction, Mindfulness-based Interventions, Resilience and Posttraumatic Growth, Well-being, Positive Emotionality, and human flourishing, Altered states of self, including Self-transcendence, Self-extension, and nondual awareness, Psychometrics and scale development

Rod W. Hopkins

Research Assistant Professor

(801) 581-5179 SW 120
rodney.hopkins@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Program Evaluation, Community-based Needs Assessments, and Evidence-based Practices; Suicide prevention; Implementation Science; Improving Program Outcomes

Charles Hoy-Ellis

Assistant Professor

(801) 585-0835 SW 311
charles.hoy-ellis@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Social Determinants of LGBTQ+/Sexual and Gender Minority (SGM) Health and Mental Health; Identity, Embodiment, and Aging in a Heterosexist Culture; Social Neuroscience of Prejudice, Stigma, and Intergroup Relations; Diversity, Social Justice, and Clinical/Contextual Social Work Practice

Jeremiah Jaggers

Assistant Professor

(801) 581-7644 SW 307
jeremiah.jaggers@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Intersection of Multi-system Youth, Mental Illness, and Mental Health Services; Long Term Effects of Child Maltreatment; Family Dynamics and Juvenile Justice System Involvement; Latent Variable Modeling; Analysis of Big Data; Research and Evaluation; Statistics; Psychopathology; Child Welfare; Social Welfare Policy

Jamuna Jones

Assistant Professor/Lecturer

(801) 581-5603 SW 324
jamuna.jones@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Perinatal Mood Disorders, Anxiety and Depression, Nutritional Psychology, Trauma informed practice

Tasha Keyes

Assistant Professor

(801) 587-7791 SW 306
tasha.keyes@utah.edu

Research Interests:
School Social Work; Belonging and Engagement for Native American and Underrepresented Students; Culturally Relevant Restorative Justice Practices; Addressing Trauma in Schools

 

Richard Landward

Assistant Professor/Lecturer

(801) 581-4298 SW 225
rich.landward@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Combat related PTSD, Mindfulness, Community Schools

Alysse Loomis

Assistant Professor

(801) 581-8679 SW 330C
alysse.loomis@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Early childhood trauma, child maltreatment prevention; early care and education, attachment, trauma-informed care, social work practice

Brad Lundahl

Associate Professor

(801) 581-4570 SW 224
brad.lundahl@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Motivational Interviewing, Meta-analyses, and Parent Training

Chad McDonald

Research Assistant Professor

(801) 581-6155 SW 125
chad.mcdonald@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Trauma-Informed Systems in Child Welfare, Cross-section of Supervisory Support, Transfer of Learning, and Implementation Science Drivers, Child Welfare Training Curricula, Evidence-based Practice in Child Welfare, Professional and Organizational Competence of Child Welfare Agencies

Meeyoung Min

Meeyoung Min

Belle S. Spafford Endowed Chair, Associate Professor

(801) 581-8796 SW 125
meeyoung.min@utah.edu

Research Interests:

Prenatal Drug Exposure; Trauma; Maternal Mental Health; Child Development; Adolescence Substance Use

Dena Ned

Associate Professor/Lecturer, Director of American Indian Program

(801) 581-8902 SW 206
dena.ned@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
American Indian/Tribal Nations/Indigenous Issues & Policy (Indian Child Welfare; Indian Health Care; Intergenerational and Historical Trauma; Urban Indian Systems of Care; Research Regulation in Indian Country; Sovereignty of Native Nations in Higher Education [Indigenous Ways of Knowing & Methodologies, American Indian Student Success]); Macro Social Work and Policy Practice; Generalist Practice; Public Service

Sonya Martinez-Ortiz

Assistant Professor/Lecturer

(801) 585-9017 SW 328B
sonya.martinez-ortiz@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Macro Social Work, Feminist Multicultural Therapy, Trauma-Informed Practice, Curanderismo/Traditional Medicine, REDI (Race, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion)

Philip Osteen

Associate Professor, SRI Director

(801) 581-8861 SW 130
philip.osteen@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Suicide intervention and prevention, mental health, psychometrics, advanced statistical analyses

Patrick Panos

Associate Professor, Global Education & Outreach Director

(801) 581-8914 SW 313 
patrick.panos@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Distance Learning, International Social Work, Participatory Community-Based Research, Refugee Trauma, Cross-Cultural Mental Health

Kort Prince

Research Assistant Professor, Interim Director of UCJC

(801) 587-9947 SW 232 
kort.prince@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Criminal and Juvenile Justice; Longitudinal and Multilevel Models, Generalized Linear Models, Generalized Additive Models, Survival Analysis, Experimental Methodology

Cetrola Sanchez

Assistant Professor/Lecturer

(801) 581-8847 SW 332
g.cetrola@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Immigrant and Refugee Populations, Narrative Therapy, the Latinx Population, Gender Identity

Larry Smith

Professor

(801) 581-5103 SW 309
larry.smith@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Human Behavior, Health and Mental Health, Research

Scott Sorensen

Associate Professor/Lecturer

(435) 586-1938  
scott.sorensen@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Distance Learning Program, Rural Social Work

Michael Tanana

Research Assistant Professor

(801) 585-9228 SW 128
michael.tanana@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Machine Learning/Deep Learning for the Behavioral Sciences, Statistical Methods, Interactive Data Visualization for Program Improvement 

Martell Teasley

Professor, Dean

(801) 581-6194 SW 109 
martell.teasley@utah.edu

Research Interests:
African American Adolescent Development, Diversity in Cultural Competence, Black Studies, School Social Work Practice 

Aster Tecle

Assistant Professor

(801) 587-8473 SW 308 
aster.tecle@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Forced Migration and Globalization; Identity Constructions and Possibilities, Community-based Participatory Research; Indigenous Knowledge and Research

Mary Beth Vogel-Ferguson

Research Associate Professor

(801) 581-3071 SW 126
marybeth.vogel-ferguson@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Public Benefit Programs and Policies, Trauma-informed Approaches for Agencies and Organizations, Employment Issues, Poverty and Serving Diverse Low-income Populations

Joanne Yaffe

Professor

(801) 581-4829 SW 213
joanne.yaffe@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Research; Systematic Reviews, Evidence-Informed Practice, Scholarly Communication

Jaehee Yi

Associate Professor

(801) 585-7030 SW 310 
jaehee.yi@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Impact of Trauma on Individuals and Families in the Cultural Context, Cancer Survivorship, Posttraumatic Stress and Growth, Cross-cultural Studies, Photovoice, Loss and Grief, Emerging Adulthood 

Last Updated: 10/1/19