Skip to content

Main Navigation

Faculty

Troy Andersen

Associate Professor/Lecturer, Director Goodwill Initiatives on Aging

(801) 587-5354 SW 206
troy.andersen@hsc.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Alzheimer’s Disease, Progressive Neurologic Disease, Aging, Health, Rural Health Care

Tiffany Baffour

Associate Professor & MSW Program Director

(801) 581-7585 SW 333
tiffany.baffour@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Community-based Participatory Research, Health Care Delivery, Violence Prevention, Evidence-based Mental Health, Professional Dvelopment in Social Work

Joanna Bettmann Schaefer

Professor, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

(801) 587 -7600 SW 108
joanna.schaefer@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Attachment, Treatment Outcomes, Wilderness Therapy, Residential Treatment

Jerry Buie

Assistant Professor/Lecturer

(801) 587-5234 SW 332 
jerry.buie@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Correctional Social Work, LGBTQ Populations, Social Work and Spirituality

Rob Butters

Associate Professor

(801) 585-3246 SW 314
rob.butters@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Forensic Social Work, Sexual Abuse, Meta-Analysis, Community-Based Research, Technology in Social Work

Kara Byrne

Research Assistant Professor

(801) 581-4858 SW 124
kara.byrne@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Macro Practice, Critical Participatory Action Research (CPAR), Housing/Eviction/Mobility, Program Evaluation (Campus Community-Partnerships, Collective Impact, Child Welfare)

Jason Castillo

Associate Professor, BSW Program Director

(801) 585-9592 SW 335
jason.castillo@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Social Welfare Policy and Community Organizations

Matthew Davis

Research Associate Professor

(801) 581-5738 SW 124
matt.davis@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Program Evaluation, Juvenile Justice, Innovative Training Methods for Mental Health Practitioners

Mark de St. Aubin

Assistant Professor/Lecturer

(801) 581-8901 SW 326
mark.destaubin@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Social Work in Health Care, Interdisciplinary Social Work

David Derezotes

Professor, Bridge Clinic Director

(801) 585-3546 SW 305 
dderezotes@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Ecobiosychosocial-spiritual Well Being, Implications of Emerging Science and Technology, Mental Health Practice, Dialogue in Local and Global Community

Caren J. Frost

Research Professor, Director of CRMRI

(801) 581-5287 SW 208 
caren.frost@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Refugee Women’s Health, Physical and Nutritional Fitness in Youth, Behavioral Aspects of Breast Cancer, Qualitative Research Methods, Ethics in Research

Eric Garland

Professor, Associate Dean for Research, Director of C-MIIND

(801) 581-3826 SW 275
eric.garland@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Mindfulness-based Interventions, Clinical Research and Treatment of Stress-related Conditions (e.g., addiction, anxiety, chronic pain, cancer), Integrative Medicine and Behavioral Medicine, Translational Research using Cognitive Neuroscience Methods, Resilience, Positive Psychology, and Meaning-making

YVETTE GONZÁLEZ CORONADO

Assistant Professor/Lecturer

(801) 581-4711 SW 328A
yvette.gonzalez@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Trauma-Informed and Healing-Centered Engagement, Feminist Multicultural Therapy, Curanderismo/Traditional Medicine, Latinxs Epistemologies

Christina Gringeri

Professor, PhD Program Director, ITSW Co-Director

(801) 581-4864 SW 315 
christina.gringeri@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Qualitative Research, Feminist Research, Social Support for Low Income Women and Families, International Service Learning, Social Policy, Religion/Spirituality in Social Change

Adam Hanley

Research Assistant Professor

(801) 213-4191 SW 267
adam.hanley@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Clinical Research and Treatment of Chronic Pain and Addiction, Mindfulness-based Interventions, Resilience and Posttraumatic Growth, Well-being, Positive Emotionality, and human flourishing, Altered states of self, including Self-transcendence, Self-extension, and nondual awareness, Psychometrics and scale development

Rod W. Hopkins

Research Assistant Professor

(801) 581-5179 SW 120
rodney.hopkins@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Substance Abuse Prevention

Charles Hoy-Ellis

Assistant Professor

(801) 585-0835 SW 311
charles.hoy-ellis@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Well-being of LGBTQ populations. Understanding and addressing the social determinants of population health disparities and downstream bio-psycho-social-spiritual-behavioral issues among marginalized groups.

Jeremiah Jaggers

Assistant Professor

(801) 581-7644 SW 307
jeremiah.jaggers@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Intersection of Multi-system Youth, Mental Illness, and Mental Health Services; Long Term Effects of Child Maltreatment; Family Dynamics and Juvenile Justice System Involvement; Latent Variable Modeling; Analysis of Big Data; Research and Evaluation; Statistics; Psychopathology; Child Welfare; Social Welfare Policy

Jamuna Jones

Assistant Professor/Lecturer

(801) 581-5603 SW 324
jamuna.jones@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Perinatal Mood Disorders, Anxiety and Depression, Nutritional Psychology, Trauma informed practice

Tasha Keyes

Assistant Professor

(801) 587-7791 SW 306
tasha.keyes@utah.edu

Research Interests:
School social work, Creating classroom contexts that promote belonging and academic engagement, Transition to high school and college, College Match, Social emotional learning, Noncognitive factors, Native American students and communities 

Richard Landward

Assistant Professor/Lecturer

(801) 581-4298 SW 225
rich.landward@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Combat related PTSD, Mindfulness, Community Schools

Brad Lundahl

Associate Professor

(801) 581-4570 SW 224
brad.lundahl@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Motivational Interviewing, Meta-analyses, and Parent Training

Trinh Mai

Associate Professor/Lecturer, Director of MSW Field Education

(801) 581-4259 SW 325
trinh.mai@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Practicum Instruction, Clinical Social Work, Immigrant/acculturation Issues

Chad McDonald

Research Assistant Professor

(801) 581-6155 SW 125
chad.mcdonald@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Trauma-Informed Systems in Child Welfare, Cross-section of Supervisory Support, Transfer of Learning, and Implementation Science Drivers, Child Welfare Training Curricula, Evidence-based Practice in Child Welfare, Professional and Organizational Competence of Child Welfare Agencies

Dena Ned

Associate Professor/Lecturer, Director of American Indian Program

(801) 581-8902 SW 206
dena.ned@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Native American Issues, Social Work Research, and Policy

Sonya Martinez-Ortiz

Assistant Professor/Lecturer

(801) 585-9017 SW 328B
sonya.martinez-ortiz@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Field Education; Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion; Macro Practice; Spirituality in Social Change

Philip Osteen

Associate Professor, SRI Director

(801) 581-8861 SW 130
philip.osteen@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Suicide intervention and prevention, mental health, psychometrics, advanced statistical analyses

Patrick Panos

Associate Professor, Global Education & Outreach Director

(801) 581-8914 SW 313 
patrick.panos@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Distance Learning, International Social Work, Participatory Community-Based Research, Refugee Trauma, Cross-Cultural Mental Health

Kort Prince

Research Assistant Professor, Interim Director of UCJC

(801) 587-9947 SW 232 
kort.prince@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Criminal Justice, Research Design, Longitudinal/Multilevel Modeling, Structural Equation Modeling

Cetrola Sanchez

Assistant Professor/Lecturer

(801) 581-8847 SW 332
g.cetrola@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Immigrant and Refugee Populations, Narrative Therapy, the Latinx Population, Gender Identity

Larry Smith

Professor

(801) 581-5103 SW 309
larry.smith@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Human Behavior, Health and Mental Health, Research

Scott Sorensen

Associate Professor/Lecturer

(435) 586-1938  
scott.sorensen@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Distance Learning Program, Rural Social Work

Michael Tanana

Research Assistant Professor

(801) 585-9228 SW 128
michael.tanana@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Machine Learning/Deep Learning for the Behavioral Sciences, Statistical Methods, Interactive Data Visualization for Program Improvement 

Martell Teasley

Professor, Dean

(801) 581-6194 SW 109 
martell.teasley@utah.edu

Research Interests:
African American Adolescent Development, Diversity in Cultural Competence, Black Studies, School Social Work Practice 

Aster Tecle

Assistant Professor

(801) 587-8473 SW 308 
aster.tecle@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Refugees and Immigrants, Forced Migration, Global Justice

Mary Beth Vogel-Ferguson

Research Associate Professor

(801) 581-3071 SW 126
marybeth.vogel-ferguson@socwk.utah.edu

Research Interests:
Social Welfare Policy and Welfare Reform, Poverty Issues, University-Public Social Service Agency research partnerships, Program Evaluation

Joanne Yaffe

Professor

(801) 581-4829 SW 213
joanne.yaffe@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Practitioner Utilization of Scientific Knowledge, Systematic Reviews of Intervention Research 

Jaehee Yi

Associate Professor

(801) 585-7030 SW 310 
jaehee.yi@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Cancer Survivorship, Posttraumatic Stress and Growth, Cross-cultural Studies, Photovoice, Loss and Grief, Emerging Adulthood 

 

 

 

Last Updated: 7/1/19