Skip to content

Faculty

Troy Andersen

Troy Andersen
Associate Professor/Lecturer

(801) 587-5354
troy.andersen@hsc.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Alzheimer’s Disease, Progressive Neurologic Disease, Aging, Health, Rural Health Care

Sumiko Anderson

Sumiko Anderson
Assistant Professor/Clinical

sumiko.anderson@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Generational Trauma in the Black/African-American Community, Best Practices in Field Education and Self-care in Academia

Tiffany Baffour

Tiffany Baffour
Associate Professor; Associate Dean, Graduate Equity, Diversity & Inclusion, The Graduate School

(801) 581-7585
tiffany.baffour@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Community-based Participatory Research, Health Care Delivery, Violence Prevention, Evidence-based Mental Health, Professional Development in Social Work

Stephanie Bank

Stephanie Bank
Assistant Professor/Clinical

stephanie.bank@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Trauma, Anxiety, Depression, Loss, Grief, Parenting, Family/Relationship Issues, Health and Wellness

Joanna Bettmann Schaefer

Joanna Bettmann Schaefer
Professor

(801) 587 -7600
joanna.schaefer@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Attachment, Treatment Outcomes, Wilderness Therapy, Residential Treatment

Emily Bleyl

Emily Bleyl
Assistant Professor/Clinical; Director, MSW Field Education

emily.bleyl@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Ethics in Social Work Practice, Child and Adolescent Well-Being and Social Policy, Professional Social Work Socialization and Identity

Chris Cambron

Christopher Cambron
Assistant Professor

(801) 581-8691
chris.cambron@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Health Disparities, Substance Abuse/Addiction, Cancer Prevention, Quantitative Research, Ecological Momentary Assessment

Sarah Canham

Sarah Canham
Associate Professor (Social Work & Architecture + Planning)

(801) 581-8738
sarah.canham@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Social Determinants of Health; Health and Social Services; Environments and Aging; Homelessness; Substance Use and Dependence; Mental Health; Qualitative Research Methods; Community-based Participatory Research; Life Course Perspective; Social Construction of Knowledge; Culture of Medicine; Knowledge Translation

Jason Castillo

Jason Castillo
Professor; Interim Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

(801) 585-9592
jason.castillo@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Disadvantaged Children and Families with an Emphasis on Fathers, Social Work Education, Substance Use Disorder Counselor Education and Training, Social Welfare Policy, Macro Social Work Practice

Caren Frost

Caren J. Frost
Research Professor; Associate Director, CRMRI

(801) 581-5287
caren.frost@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Women’s Health, Global Health, Breast Cancer, Research Ethics

Eric Garland

Eric Garland
Distinguished Professor; Distinguished Endowed Chair in Research; Associate Dean for Research; Director, C-MIIND

(801) 581-3826
eric.garland@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Mindfulness-based Interventions, Clinical Research and Treatment of Stress-related Conditions (e.g., addiction, anxiety, chronic pain, cancer), Integrative Medicine and Behavioral Medicine, Translational Research using Cognitive Neuroscience Methods, Resilience, Positive Psychology, and Meaning-making

Jennifer Gervais

Jennifer Gervais
Assistant Professor/Lecturer

jennifer.gervais@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Competency-based Education, Social Emotional Learning, Best Practices in Field Education, Child and Adolescent Mental Health

Lindsay Gezinski

Lindsay Gezinski
Associate Professor; Director, MSW Program

(801) 581-7585
lindsay.gezinski@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Gender-based Violence, Human Trafficking, Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights, Social Policy, Global Social Work

Ellie Goldberg

Ellie Goldberg
Assistant Professor/Clinical

ellie.goldberg@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Trauma and Healing, Sexual and Relationship Violence, College Student Wellness, Program Development and Administration

Christina Gringeri

Christina Gringeri
Professor; Director, PhD Program

(801) 581-4864
christina.gringeri@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Diversity in Social Work Education and Practicum; Qualitative Research Methods and Evaluation of Qualitative Research; Feminisms in Social Work Research

Tonie Michelle Hanaazbaa

Tonie Michelle Hanáázbaa'
Assistant Professor/Clinical

(801) 581-4309
tonie-michelle.hanaazbaa@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Social Justice, Indigenous Education, Substance Use Disorders, (Dis)Ability

Adam Hanley

Adam Hanley
Assistant Professor

(801) 213-4191
adam.hanley@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Clinical Research and Treatment of Chronic Pain and Addiction; Mindfulness-based Interventions; Resilience and Posttraumatic Growth, Well-being, Positive Emotionality, and Human Flourishing; Altered States of Self, Including Self-transcendence, Self-extension, and Nondual Awareness; Psychometrics and scale development

Rod Hopkins

Rod W. Hopkins
Research Assistant Professor

(801) 581-5179
rodney.hopkins@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Program Evaluation, Community-based Needs Assessments, and Evidence-based Practices; Suicide Prevention; Implementation Science; Improving Program Outcomes

Jeremiah Jaggers

Jeremiah Jaggers
Associate Professor, Interim Director, BSW Program

(801) 581-7644
jeremiah.jaggers@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Intersection of Multi-system Youth, Mental Illness, and Mental Health Services; Long Term Effects of Child Maltreatment; Family Dynamics and Juvenile Justice System Involvement; Latent Variable Modeling; Analysis of Big Data; Research and Evaluation; Statistics; Psychopathology; Child Welfare; Social Welfare Policy

Curtis Johnson

Leroy Curtis Johnson
Assistant Professor/Clinical

L.Curtis.Johnson@utah.edu

Research Interests:
Disproportionate Minority Contact, Disproportionality in Child Welfare, Child Protection Services-Safety Organized Practice, Racial Discrimination in the Criminal Justice System

Richie Landward

Richard Landward
Assistant Professor/Lecturer

(801) 581-4298
rich.landward@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Combat Related PTSD, Mindfulness, Community Schools

Alysse Loomis

Alysse Loomis
Assistant Professor

(801) 581-8679
alysse.loomis@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Early Childhood Trauma; Child Maltreatment Prevention; Early Care and Education, Attachment; Trauma-informed Care; Social Work Practice

Brad Lundahl

Brad Lundahl
Associate Professor

(801) 581-4570
brad.lundahl@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Motivational Interviewing, Meta-analyses, Parent Training

Susiane Manning

Susiane Manning
Assistant Professor/Clinical

susiane.manning@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Clinical Social Work, Child Welfare, Technology in Mental Health Practice, Crisis Management

Erika Marks

Erika Marks
Research Assistant Professor

(801) 581-5217
erika.marks@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Child Welfare Workforce Development 

Chad McDonald

Chad McDonald
Research Assistant Professor; Director, Social Research Institute

(801) 581-6155
chad.mcdonald@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Trauma-Informed Systems in Child Welfare, Cross-section of Supervisory Support, Transfer of Learning, and Implementation Science Drivers, Child Welfare Training Curricula, Evidence-based Practice in Child Welfare, Professional and Organizational Competence of Child Welfare Agencies

Meeyoung Min

Meeyoung Min
Associate Professor; Belle S. Spafford Endowed Chair

(801) 581-8796
meeyoung.min@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:

Prenatal Drug Exposure; Trauma; Maternal Mental Health; Child Development; Adolescence Substance Use

Robert C. Morris

Robert C. (R.C.) Morris
Assistant Professor/Clinical

rob.morris@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Acceptance and Commitment Therapy, Criminology and Juvenile Justice, Developmental Social Psychology, Existential Psychotherapy, Mindfulness/Meditation, Quantitative Statistical Methods

Dena Ned

Dena Ned
Associate Professor/Lecturer, Director of American Indian Program

(801) 581-8902
dena.ned@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
American Indian/Tribal Nations/Indigenous Issues and Policy (Indian Child Welfare; Indian Health Care; Intergenerational and Historical Trauma; Urban Indian Systems of Care; Research Regulation in Indian Country; Sovereignty of Native Nations in Higher Education [Indigenous Ways of Knowing and Methodologies, American Indian Student Success]); Macro Social Work and Policy Practice; Generalist Practice; Public Service

Allison O'Connor

Allison O'Connor
Assistant Professor/Lecturer

(801) 581-3641
allison.oconnor@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:

Philip Osteen

Philip Osteen
Associate Professor; Interim Dean

(801) 581-8861
philip.osteen@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Suicide Intervention and Prevention, Mental Health, Psychometrics, Advanced Statistical Analyses

Patrick Panos

Patrick Panos
Associate Professor

(801) 581-8914
patrick.panos@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Distance Learning, International Social Work, Participatory Community-Based Research, Refugee Trauma, Cross-Cultural Mental Health

Kort Prince

Kort Prince
Research Associate Professor

(801) 587-9947
kort.prince@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Criminal and Juvenile Justice; Longitudinal and Multilevel Models, Generalized Linear Models, Generalized Additive Models, Survival Analysis, Experimental Methodology

Yvette Romero Coronado

Yvette Romero Coronado
Assistant Professor/Clinical

(801) 581-4711
yvette.romero@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Trauma-Informed and Healing-Centered Engagement, Feminist Multicultural Therapy, Curanderismo/Traditional Medicine, Latinxs Epistemologies

Emily Salisbury

Emily Salisbury
Associate Professor; Director, Utah Criminal Justice Center

(801) 581-4379
emily.salisbury@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Criminological Behavior, Correctional Philosophy and Rehabilitation, Justice-Involved Women and Girls, Correctional Risk/Need/Strength Assessment, Gender- and Trauma-Responsive Policy and Practice

Cynthia Sanders

Cynthia Sanders
Associate Professor; Director, Online Programs

(801) 581-3199
cynthia.sanders@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Online Education

Christian Sarver

Christian Sarver
Research Assistant Professor; Associate Director, Utah Criminal Justice Center

(801) 587-9437
christian.sarver@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Correctional Rehabilitation and Programming, Reentry, Offender Pathways and Desistance, Behavioral Health and Criminal Justice, Qualitative Research Methods

Elizabeth Siantz

Elizabeth Siantz
Assistant Professor

(801) 585-0975
e.siantz@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Promotion of Health Equity for Persons with Mental Illness, Using Qualitative Methods, Social Network Analysis, and Mixed Methods to Study the Development and Implementation of Integrated Behavioral Health Care, Peer Mental Health Providers, and Trauma-informed Communities

Tamber Snarr-Beesley

Tamber Snarr-Beesley
Assistant Professor/Clinical

(801) 581-8901
tamber.snarr@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Grief and Loss Therapy, Children Therapy, and Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT)

Martell Teasley

Martell Teasley
Professor; Interim Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

martell.teasley@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
African American Adolescent Development, Diversity in Cultural Competence, Black Studies, School Social Work Practice

Clifton Uckerman

Clifton R. Uckerman
Assistant Professor/Lecturer

801-583-2500
c.uckerman@utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:

Neuropsychotherapy and Emotional Spiral Dynamics, Trauma-focused Care Emphasizing Anti-Racism and the Disruption of De-humanization, Evidence-Based and Gender-Specific Interventions for Boys and Young Men of Color and the Villages that Nurture Them, Medicinal Cannabis in conjunction with PTSD Treatment, Culturally-Affirmative Methodologies for Diverse Groups and Communities  

Mary Beth Vogel-Ferguson

Mary Beth Vogel-Ferguson
Research Associate Professor

(801) 581-3071
marybeth.vogel-ferguson@socwk.utah.edu

Research/Teaching Interests:
Public Benefit Programs and Policies, Trauma-informed Approaches for Agencies and Organizations, Employment Issues, Poverty and Serving Diverse Low-income Populations

 

Last Updated: 8/22/22