Faculty

Name/Title Contact Information Research Interests
Rosemary Alvarado
Research Associate Professor
(801) 581 8598    SW 221
rosemary.alvarado@socwk.utah.edu
Applied Community-based Research, Family-based Prevention Programming, Asset Building in Latino Youth, Teen Pregnancy Prevention
 
Troy Andersen
Associate Professor/Lecturer, Director of Goodwill Initiatives on Aging
(801) 587 9648    SW 275
troy.andersen@hsc.utah.edu
Alzheimer’s disease, progressive neurologic disease, aging, health, rural health care
 
Amanda Barusch
Professor, Director of the MSW Program
(801) 581 7585    SW 333
amanda.barusch@socwk.utah.edu
Human Behavior, Aging, Policy Research, Grant Writing
 
Joanna Bettmann Schaefer
Associate Professor
(801) 587 7600    SW 333
joanna.schaefer@socwk.utah.edu
Attachment, Treatment Outcomes, Wilderness Therapy, Residential Treatment
 
Scott W. Boyle
Professor/Lecturer
            
scott.boyle@socwk.utah.edu
Human Behavior, Anger Management, and Cognitive Therapy
 
Jerry Buie
Assistant Professor/Lecturer
(801) 587 5234    SW 332
jerry.buie@socwk.utah.edu
Correctional Social Work, LGBTQ Populations, Social Work and Spirituality
 
Rob Butters
Assistant Professor, Director of UCJC
(801) 585 3246    SW 233
rob.butters@socwk.utah.edu
Forensic Social Work, Sexual Abuse, Meta-Analysis, Community-Based Research, Technology in Social Work
 
Kara Byrne
Research Assistant Professor
(801) 581 4858    SW 129
kara.byrne@utah.edu
Macro Practice, Critical Participatory Action Research (CPAR), Housing/Eviction/Mobility, Program Evaluation (Campus Community-Partnerships, Collective Impact, Child Welfare)
 
Jason Castillo
Associate Professor, Director BSW Program
(801) 585 9592    SW 324
jason.castillo@socwk.utah.edu
Social Welfare Policy and Community Organizations
 
Matthew Davis
Associate Professor, Director of Social Research Institute
(801) 581 5738    SW 128
matt.davis@socwk.utah.edu
Program evaluation, juvenile justice, innovative training methods for mental health practitioners
 
Mark de St. Aubin
Associate Professor/Lecturer
(801) 581 8901    SW 318
mark.destaubin@socwk.utah.edu
Social Work in health care, interdisciplinary Social Work
 
David Derezotes
Professor
(801) 585 3546    SW 305
dderezotes@socwk.utah.edu
Ecobiosychosocial-spiritual Well Being, Implications of Emerging Science and Technology, Mental Health Practice, Dialogue in Local and Global Community
 
Caren J. Frost
Research Professor
(801) 581 5287    SW 208
caren.frost@socwk.utah.edu
Refugee Women’s Health, Physical and Nutritional Fitness in Youth, Behavioral Aspects of Breast Cancer, Qualitative Research Methods, Ethics in Research
 
Annie Fukushima
Assistant Professor, Director of Initiative for Transformative Social Work
(801) 585 0861    SW 204
a.fukushima@utah.edu
Gendered Migration, Race and Gender, Social Movements and Visuality, Transnational Feminisms, Witnessing, and Violence
 
Eric Garland
Associate Professor, Associate Dean for Research
(801) 581 3826    SW 273
eric.garland@socwk.utah.edu
Mindfulness-based Interventions, Clinical Research and Treatment of Stress-related Conditions (e.g., addiction, anxiety, chronic pain, cancer), Integrative Medicine and Behavioral Medicine, Translational Research using Cognitive Neuroscience Methods, Resilience, Positive Psychology, and Meaning-making
 
Ruth Gerritsen-McKane
Associate Professor/Lecturer, Director Field Ed. BSW Program
(801) 585 3162    SW 327
ruth.gerritsen-mckane@socwk.utah.edu
Empowering Minority Populations, Collaboration Research, Professional Development
 
Lindsay Gezinski
Assistant Professor
(801) 581 4734    SW 309
lindsay.gezinski@utah.edu
Sexual and Reproductive Economies, Gender-Based Violence, Sexual Health, Transnational and Critical Feminisms, Mixed Methods, Macro Social Work
 
Christina Gringeri
Professor, Director of the PhD Program
(801) 581 4864    SW 315
christina.gringeri@socwk.utah.edu
Qualitative Research, Feminist Research, Social Support for Low Income Women and Families, International Service Learning, Social Policy, Religion/Spirituality in Social Change
 
Rodney W. Hopkins
Research Assistant Professor
(801) 585 6881    SW 123
rodney.hopkins@socwk.utah.edu
Substance Abuse Prevention
 
Charles Hoy-Ellis
Assistant Professor
(801) 585 0835    SW 311
Charles.hoy-ellis@socwk.utah.edu
Well-being of LGBTQ populations. Understanding and addressing the social determinants of population health disparities and downstream bio-psycho-social-spiritual-behavioral issues among marginalized groups.
 
Rosemarie Hunter
Associate Professor
(801) 972 3620    SW 328A
r.hunter@socwk.utah.edu
Campus-community Partnerships, Community Practice and Capacity-building
 
Tasha Keyes
Assistant Professor
(801) 587 7791    SW 307
tasha.keyes@utah.edu
School social work, creating classroom contexts that promote belonging and academic engagement, transition to high school and college, college match, social emotional learning, noncognitive factors, Native American students and communities
 
Richard Landward
Assistant Professor/Lecturer
(801) 585 4298    SW 314
rich.landward@socwk.utah.edu
Combat related PTSD, Mindfulness, Community Schools
 
Brad Lundahl
Associate Professor
(801) 581 4570    SW 226
brad.lundahl@socwk.utah.edu
Motivational Interviewing, meta-analyses, and parent training
 
Duane Luptak
Assistant Professor/Lecturer
(801) 585 5138    SW 312
duane.luptak@socwk.utah.edu
BSW Practicum Instruction, generalist practice, serious and persistent mental illness treatment issues
 
Marilyn Luptak
Associate Professor
(801) 581 3645    SW 267
marilyn.luptak@socwk.utah.edu
Family care giving, health and mental health issues in older adults, elder maltreatment, end-of-life care, and interdisciplinary team care
 
Trinh Mai
Associate Professor/Lecturer, Director of Field Education
(801) 581 4259    SW 320
trinh.mai@socwk.utah.edu
Practicum Instruction, Clinical Social Work, Immigrant/acculturation Issues
 
Chad McDonald
Research Assistant Professor/UT Title IV-E Training/DCFS Employee Program Coordinator
(801) 581 6155    SW 122
Chad.McDonald@utah.edu
Trauma-Informed Systems in child welfare, Cross-section of Supervisory Support, Transfer of Learning, and Implementation Science Drivers, Child Welfare training curricula, Evidence-based practice in child welfare, Professional and Organizational Competence of child welfare agencies
 
Kathleen J. Moroz
Assistant Professor/Lecturer
(801) 587 9278    SW 225
kathleen.moroz@socwk.utah.edu
The neuroscience of relationships, mindfulness, treatment of trauma, early childhood mental health, equine-assisted psychotherapy
 
Dena Ned
Associate Professor/Lecturer
(801) 581 8902    SW 325
dena.ned@socwk.utah.edu
Native American Issues, Social Work Research, and Policy
 
Patrick Panos
Associate Professor
(801) 671 5226    SW 313
patrick.panos@socwk.utah.edu
Distance Learning, International Social Work, Participatory Community-Based Research, Refugee Trauma, Cross-Cultural Mental Health
 
Kort Prince
Research Assistant Professor
(801) 587-9947     SW 232
kort.prince@socwk.utah.edu
Criminal Justice, Research Design, Longitudinal/Multilevel Modeling, Structural Equation Modeling
 
Larry Smith
Professor
(801) 581 5103    SW 264
larry.smith@socwk.utah.edu
Human Behavior, Health and Mental Health, Research
 
Scott Sorensen
Associate Professor/Lecturer
(435) 586 1938    Cedar City 225L
sorensen_s@suu.edu
Distance Learning Program, Rural Social Work
 
Michael Tanana
Research Assistant Professor
(801) 585 9228    #
michael.tanana@utah.edu
Machine Learning/Deep Learning for the Behavioral Sciences, Statistical Methods, Interactive Data Visualization for Program Improvement
 
Mary Jane Taylor
Professor, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
(801) 581 8828    SW 108
maryjane.taylor@socwk.utah.edu
Family and Children, Public Welfare, Evaluative Research
 
Martell Teasley
Dean
801) 581 6194    SW 109
martell.teasley@utah.edu
African American Adolescent Development, Diversity in Cultural Competence, Black Studies, School Social Work Practice
 
Aster Tecle
Assistant Professor, Belle S. Spafford Endowed Chair
(801) 587 8473    SW 308
aster.tecle@socwk.utah.edu
Refugees and Immigrants, Forced Migration, Global Justice
 
Mary Beth Vogel-Ferguson
Research Associate Professor
(801) 581 3071    SW 125
marybeth.vogel-ferguson@socwk.utah.edu
Social Welfare Policy and Welfare Reform, Poverty Issues, University-Public Social Service Agency research partnerships, Program Evaluation
 
Elizabeth Walker
Assistant Professor/Lecturer
(801) 585 6986    SW 321
elizabeth.walker@socwk.utah.edu
Practicum Instruction, Administration, Human Behavior in the Social Environment
 
Fran Wilby
Associate Professor/Lecturer
(801) 585 9276    SW 265
frances.wilby@socwk.utah.edu
Depression and Aging, Long-term Care Policy, Home and Community Based Services
 
Joanne Yaffe
Professor
(801) 581 4829    SW 314
joanne.yaffe@utah.edu
Practitioner Utilization of Scientific Knowledge, Systematic Reviews of Intervention Research
 
Jaehee Yi
Assistant Professor
(801) 585 7030    SW 310
jaehee.yi@socwk.utah.edu
Cancer Survivorship, Posttraumatic Stress and Growth, Cross-cultural Studies, Photovoice, Loss and Grief, Emerging Adulthood